‘Am I an Otaku?’: Symptoms to Look Out for In an Impending Otaku Mode Transformation

otaku-1

So, are you an otaku?

Now before you answer that, think about your definition of an otaku. What is an otaku?

Japan has long considered the term as insulting or derogatory, referring to people who totally obsess themselves about something. It could be obsession to gadgets, clothing, trains and anything, but the most popular one that has gained attention all over the world is the obsession for anime.

I won’t go as far as calling it obsession though. Technological advances, cultural differences and practices have changed a lot over the course of history and the traditional way on how we define (and know) otaku may no longer be that appropriate at present (my thoughts on this one will be presented on a separate post).

But if it’s about spotting an otaku and knowing whether or not you’re a soon-to-be-member of this globally recognized group of fanatics, then you should be aware of the common symptoms!

Check if you’re guilty of the following:

1. I have an anime shirt (and I love it).

anime-shirt

2. I cry when an awesome, anime character dies (and spend a couple of more days analyzing why the mangaka broke my heart)

anime-dies

3. I have an anime crush (and I secretly hoped he/she is real)

anime guys

4. I buy anime stuff (that are most of the time useless)

anime-stuff

5. I spend a lot of time watching anime (regardless of the time and electricity bills)

anime-watching

6. I have Japanese songs in my playlist (and sings with it even without understanding)

anime-music

7. I struggle to incorporate basic Japanese expressions on daily conversation (no matter how awkward)

anime-language

8. I celebrate my favorite anime character’s birthday (and sometimes decide to prepare a cake)

anime-birthday

9. I think wearing glasses is cool (and have tried it once or twice)

Agree?
Agree?

10. I know Luffy, Naruto and Ichigo very well (shame to those who don’t)

anime-trio

11. I insist on calling it manga (those who call it comics should shut up)

anime-manga

12. I know the difference between anime and cartoons (Really? You don’t?)

anime-cartoon

13. I have friends who love anime (and together we speak random Japanese)

anime-friends

14. I can fluently talk about yaoi and yuri (like a piece of cake)

anime-yaoi

15. I go to cosplay competitions (wearing costumes/simply taking photos)

anime-cosplay

16. I can name 10 anime this instant except for Naruto, Bleach and One Piece (Can you? If so, name them on the comments!)

  • Prince of Tennis
  • Shingeki no Kyoujin
  • Otome Yokai Zakuro
  • Gundam 00
  • Broken Blade
  • Kamisama Hajimemashita
  • Hunter X Hunter
  • Kuroko no Basuke
  • Blood +
  • Black Blood Brothers

17. I eat Japanese foods (and say ‘Itadakimasu’ before digging in)

anime-food

18. I can use chopsticks (barely or expertly, it doesn’t matter)

anime-chopsticks

19. I have anime posters as my room’s wallpaper (and they’re the best!)

anime-wall

20. I think anime high school uniforms look great (and I want one for myself)

anime-uniform

21. I am on an automatic heightened alert mode when I hear talks about anime (even by strangers)

anime-alert

22. I raise a brow when people say they hate anime (WHY?!)

anime-angry

23. I’m reading this post because I suspect I’m an otaku! (and proud of it!)

anime-otaku

So….do you have the symptoms of an otaku? Look around your room, check your habits, your circle of friends and your food favorites.

Anything otaku-like? Let’s talk about them on the comments!

6 thoughts on “‘Am I an Otaku?’: Symptoms to Look Out for In an Impending Otaku Mode Transformation”

  1. No, not good. I found myself guilty for this. I’m a certified Otaku! To share some of my symptoms (if you wouldn’t mind) all my pet’s name are from Japanese/anime characters…and…my passwords usually has something related to anime. lol.

    Good job on this! Very relatable. LOL

    Like

  2. Prince of Tennis
    Kuroko no Basuke
    Fairy Tail
    Kuroshitsuji
    Junjou Romantica
    Sekaiichi Hatsukoi
    Katekyo Hitman Reborn
    I want to be naughty
    Kirai ja nai Kedo <–my favorite yaoi
    The World God Only Knows

    And I literally just looked at your 1st picture and thought: HOW DID YOU KNOW?!!!!

    (Seriously, how did you know? That's ALL true about me!!!)

    Anyways, that was beautiful–and I love~ it! Amazingly psychic!

    Like

Leave a Reply

