7 Traumatic Anime Deaths Too Painful to Forget

DISCLAIMER: This list is purely subjective and is never a result of any official poll from anime fans.

I knew it.

Writing this post would mean that I’ll have to relapse into a state of depression while I recall the most heart-breaking anime deaths I’m yet to find the strength to fully accept.

I’ve always known this time would come – when I’d finally have to put it in writing. Thanks to 100 Word Anime’s own list of saddest anime deaths for giving the necessary push.

Without further drama, here’s my list.

Minato & Kushina (Naruto)

They died for their son. They died for Konoha. Shouldn’t we all be happy?

NO! Their final moments were still one of the most painful scenes on the entire Naruto Shippuden series.

Perhaps their death was a prerequisite to propel Naruto’s character development in general. Still……

Lelouch Lamperouge (Code Geass)

Lelouch had it coming. He was brilliant, witty, prepared, proactive and….dammit Lelouch! Do you really have to die?

I’m not so much of a fan. I also didn’t remember shedding some tears on that painful climax when he happily accepted his death on Suzaku’s hand. It’s never a pleasure to look at.

But after all his genius plotting and maneuvering to gain control, his death at the end of it all just felt….empty. And it’s really sad.

Mikoto Suoh (K Project)

No blood, no bone, no ash!

That character who didn’t have to die, but accepted it anyway. Really, my Red king.

Neji Hyuga (Naruto)

Why didn’t anyone warn me?!

Imagine that intense feeling of excitement, knowing that something great’s coming up, only to end up feeling choked when a sudden shift happens?

That sudden shift came by Neji’s death. While I was feeling all hyped with Naruto’s newfound strength and all, there goes Neji suddenly blocking Naruto from an incoming attack and tadaa……he dies.

Neji died. I needed an entire week to let that sink in.

And ‘it’s all coming back to me now…’

Neil Dylandy a.k.a. Lockon Stratos (Gundam 00)

Neil……why……..WHY?! I just…..

No Neil, humans are insatiable.  But you already knew that, right?

Gin Ichimaru (Bleach)

Dear Gin,

You sided with Aizen,
But even then I knew you weren’t the villain.
You chose deceit over honesty
Making sure none of us are able to see
But then you came back, explaining
How the retrieval of Rangiku’s reiatsu was your everything
So tell me how I can accept
Your final goodbye that ended up with death.

Best,
Venus

Itachi Uchiha (Naruto)

Saving the most painful for last, but I can’t do it after all.

I’ve reached my limit for this painful writing encounter.  Now is your turn to bare your own list!

23 thoughts on “7 Traumatic Anime Deaths Too Painful to Forget”

      1. I am not sure reasons why I feel sad with Lelouch’s final scene. But I think studio did great job when they made story progress before – after he is dead. And with how other characters who really care for him while and after Suzaku will use sword.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Each time I see this kind of post I always think of Maes Hughes, I lost my father at a young age, not as tragic tho, so it come to get me. No matter the medium or version, i always cry. Same for Masaoka from Psycho-Pass.
    When Mikoto died I didn’t cry, I was really sad on the verse of crying but I didn’t cry while watching the scene. I cried after, when the insert song “Requiem of Red” sang by Anna, Kusanagi and the Homra clansmen start. I was looking for my box of tissues.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know Maes Hughes from FMA, but since I haven’t really finished the entire series yet, I didn’t know what happened to him or to the rest of the characters. As to Mikoto….I don’t know….when he died, a sudden, weird air of sadness just kind of appeared and I cried. I guess I wouldn’t have the same reaction when I watch it again, but the first time was the real deal.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have not seen many of the days not watched a lot of these related series like naruto but I never shedded a tear for lelouch either lol but awesome list I think this is the first time of getting to check out one of your posts forgive me

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

